GA Votes Against Preserves

2013 General Assembly Wrap Up

By Davy Hackett, President of the Virginia Foxhound Training Preserve Association

Supporters who wished
to protect Virginia's Heritage
I wish to thank everyone who came out to oppose SB 1280 introduced during the 2013 General Assembly session.  In addition to you who attended, made calls and wrote letters, I would especially like to thank our speakers and all who were prepared to speak, VFTPA members, Kirby Burch and VDHA and Steve Colvin and VTA for their organizational efforts.
SB 1280 was introduced to prohibit field trials, allow 1 foxhound per 5 acres and to prohibit the transfer of permits except to a spouse. 
Voting for SB 1280 were Senators Alexander, Barker, Blevins, Colgan, Deeds, Ebbin, Edwards, Favola, Herring, Howell, Locke, Lucas, Marsden, Marsh, McEachin, Miller, Northam, Petersen, Puckett, Puller, Saslaw, Smith, Stuart, Vogel--24.

Supporters who wished
to protect Virginia's Heritage
Voting against SB 1820 were Senators Black, Carrico, Garrett, Hanger, Martin, McDougle, McWaters, Newman, Norment, Obenshain, Reeves, Ruff, Stanley, Stosch, Wagner, Watkins--16.

SH 1280 as passed was then forwarded to the House Agricultural subcommittee on Natural Resources where it was defeated by a vote of 5-2. Opposing SB 1280 were Delegates L. Ware, Wright, Wilt, Fariss and Edmunds.  In support were Delegates Plum and Lewis.

(Republicans are highlighted in black)

I hope that you will take the opportunity to thank those members of the General Assembly who opposed a bill against hunting click on “Senators” or “Delegates” And continue to educate those that are not educated.